Return of the Spork, and Cover Reveal!

 

 

 

Spork

Where’d the month go? Looking at the calendar, I see it’s been exactly 30 days since I last posted. Yikes! Bad blogger, BAD! On the other hand, I’m sure my loyal readers will forgive me when I explain the giant bag of crazy that has been the month of April.

First off,I presented the Harley Quinn Issue #0 paper I wrote at SUU’s Festival of Excellence on April 8th. In the middle of gearing up for finals and running Speaking Truth Open Mic at Main Street Books, this was interesting, but I think the presentation went really, really well!

Next I was asked to attend the Western Region Honors Conference in Denver, where I presented the Harley Quinn paper again. It was a great time, and I got out of Cedar for a little while. Found a cool little bar right up the street from my hotel called Sam’s #3, which has apparently been featured on the Food Network. Needless to say, I wasn’t there to eat, but to quench my thirst. With a Maker’s Mark on the rocks for $9, it was a good night, after which I went out for a bit of karaoke at Armida’s. Not as good a selection of hooch, but they had some really good music and the singers weren’t half bad on average!

Once I was back in town, it was back to the salt mines and finishing up a flurry of regular schoolwork and Honors projects in preparation for finals, including a Sociology paper arguing a pro stance on prostitution; a short story for my Writing About Baseball class which will also be used for the next Writing Out Child Abuse anthology, Everyday Angels; and trying (unsuccessfully) to finish up my first attempt at a literary novel, a piece with the working title Tripping On Someone Else’s Shoelaces, for my Honors Thesis. It’s looking like this will be done by the middle of May, for reasons that will become self-evident shortly.

So in the midst of all this, my girlfriend became very ill with various feminine issues. (Ladies, you know what I mean. Guys, just smile and nod.) The solution? A hysterectomy, which happened on Monday. She came through just fine and is now resting, with yours truly’s sometimes belligerent encouragement.

In a majestic stroke of universal “let’s see how much we can pile on one guy’s plate,” I received the cover art for Dusk: Darkness Rising on Friday and the after-proofing copy Monday, which conspired to put me behind the allegorical eight ball for everything else. So, in a whirling flurry of ACK!, I got everything done save one final paper, which I have to go attend to after I finish up this post. After that, summer can officially begin in the Land O’ Sporks! (Not that it feels much like summer right now. The weather was MUCH nicer three weeks ago.)

So, now that you know where I’ve been and what’s been up, I have been informed that the release date for Darkness Rising has been pushed back to May 30th, 2014. This is good news, because it means I have more time to promote it! And talking of Darkness Rising, I know you’ve been waiting patiently for me to get to the fucking point, which was to show you the new cover. Without further ado, then:

JSW_Dusk_Darkness_large(1)

So, that’s what’s going on in my world. Thanks for coming by, and I think I’m going to do something special for my readers for being patient with me while I fought off various real and imaginary dragons. How about this?

Everyone who leaves a legit (*NOT SPAM*; you know the difference) comment on this blog between now and Release Day will be entered to win copies of BOTH Dusk and Dusk: Darkness Rising. Couldn’t get any simpler than that, right? :)

In the meantime, I’m off, boys and ghouls. One more paper brings this school year to its final, official close, and as you can imagine, I’m pretty eager for it. Y’all take care, and I’ll be back soon with more surprises, news, and special sneak peeks at Darkness Rising!

Until next time,

Best,

J.S. Wayne

9 thoughts on “Return of the Spork, and Cover Reveal!”

  1. Good to see you’re pootling along still. But Makers Mark, for $9, seriously? lol I’ll take Yoichi, or Macallan for that price, thanks :-P

    1. Yes, but not all of us are blessed to live right next door (globally speaking) to the plant. ;) And considering you can’t GET Maker’s on the rocks in Utah, I’ll take it! :D How’s everything going in your world?

      1. I live in Prague, it”s quite a trek to get good Scotch here :-P Absinthe however…

        Not so bad, not so bad at all. I have rather grand plans for about 3 weeks time and I’m doing the unthinkable, I’m writing a bloody paranormal romance lol.

      2. Nope, no dark side for me, absolutely zero erotic content, no sex, nnoopppppeeee lol.

        Paranormal romance which I started thinking about 18 months ago. And, I’ll be a married woman in 22 days time, which let’s be honest, is the far bigger shock here lol

      3. Yea it will, I can’t wait for the day when I never have to step foot in the foreign police or the ministry of the interior ever again lol.

Leave a Reply

